Doing it our ancestors’ way: Flying between trees in the Angkor jungle

Wonder what I am talking about here?  Yes, I flew (the monkey way 😉 ) in the “Flight of the Gibbon” – an amazing zip-lining experience in my recent trip to Cambodia. When it comes to Siem Reap or Angkor, all that everyone talk about are the temples, but this incredible zip-lining experience in the middle of a tasking temple exploration itinerary is so refreshing that it is an absolute must-do!! I took a long time to decide on the booking since it was a tad expensive for my student budget. But now, I can vouch for a completely satisfying experience which will leave you with not regretting the $79 for sure 😉

My day started at 7 AM when the guys from FOTG(Flight of the Gibbon) picked me up from my hotel. Half asleep, I along with 4 other girls (Only girls!! I guess guys are scaredy cats 😉 ) was taken to their base camp where we were given a cheerful and friendly welcome. It was all so much fun until they asked me to sign a form stating no responsibility in case of an accidental death 😛 Ok, now I was fully awake and the butterflies in my stomach slowly started waking up. It was a comfort that everyone in our group had no prior experience just like me 😉 After being fit with the zip-lining equipment, we started off towards the middle of the jungle with our sky rangers Lors and Channy. Our first stop was a mini zip line where our rangers explained clearly the basic safety rules. Once that was done, we moved on to our very first zipline 🙂

Image

The first ride which got me hooked till the last 🙂

Wheeeeeeee! The minute I was on the rope, I knew that all my fears were baseless. The fun and the thrill in the ride was beyond comparison. You feel perfectly safe because of the world-class equipment and rangers who make you feel so comfortable that all you are left to do is savor and enjoy every moment on the rope 🙂 We had totally 10 zip lines, building up on height and length. There were also 4 rope bridges which are wobbly and quaint adding perfectly to the jungle experience.

Image

Tarzan experiences 😉

On the longest zip line which was 300 metres long and 50 metres from the ground, I was so confident that I stretched both my arms wide open and enjoyed a true flight above the trees. It was truly a magical moment which I would cherish for a long long time.

Image

Going higher and higher above the trees.

Image

That tiny minuscule person is me 😀

On our last zip line, every one in the group was genuinely feeling sad that it was coming to an end. We had come to enjoy and love the flying so much! But we had a nice twist in the final platform which did not have any stairs to go down. We had to be dropped to the ground by ropes tied on our waists 😀 A perfect end to a remarkable experience!

Image

Hanging in mid air 😀

Image

It was atleast 25-30 metres drop with the help of pulleys 🙂

Overall, I am so glad that I was able to do this in Angkor and strongly recommend everyone going there to give it a try. I am sure you will come out with cherish-able memories like me, plus a cool T-shirt and free lunch if you are lucky 😉 Please also comment if you know of any other places which have good zip lines. I would like to do a world-wide zip line tour if I ever get a chance 😀

Stay tuned to experience more of Cambodia with me 🙂

13 thoughts on “Doing it our ancestors’ way: Flying between trees in the Angkor jungle

  1. I too did zip lining in Costa Rica and it was amazing. Here in Calgary we have a zip line in. The summer that goes off of the top of a ski jump. It’s apparently the fastest one in North America. You wear a little parachute on your back so you don’t go too fast. Quite the adrenalin rush.

  2. Pingback: On being an Indian girl and travelling solo | TALES OF MY JOURNEYS ACROSS OCEANS

Leave a Reply

