A come-back post with Writerly Reflections

When I saw Daily Post’s this week’s writing challenge, I knew this would make the right come-back post. I have been away from the blogging world for a while now. Having started taking up paid writing gigs apart from my full-time internship, I find 24 hours and 7 days a week extremely constricting. Historically, I haven’t been very good at the balancing act (literally and figuratively) and blogging took the backseat. I feel terrible. So with this writing challenge, sharing my origin story on how I discovered the writer in me, I wish to reinforce a more consistent blogging habit in myself.  (Amen to that!)

I don’t have the memory of my first signs of affection for books and writing, but my grandfather does. And I have heard him recollect these memories a hundred times, proudly! When I was around 3-4 years old, my grandpa used to take me home for the Summer holidays as my sister was just born and my mom had her hands full. We traveled by day trains which took around 4 hours and apparently all I used to do during this time was scribble in my dairy. I wasn’t a child prodigy, so I highly doubt that I knew to write at that age, but I loved to pretend as if I was 😛 My grandfather always concludes the story reminiscing about the times we spent together when I was young. Yes indeed, my love for the imaginary world of fiction was kindled by his amazing stories. I have some clear and some vague memories of the tortures I put him through; I have even punched him on his face ( at age 4-7 😉 ) if he fell sleep during our night-time story telling sessions. Thus started my affair with words and stories.

I started reading books quite early and developed a super power : Fast reading. It used to be my favorite joke to shock people with how fast I can read as a child.  A new librarian was always fun. I used to enjoy the look on her face when I returned every book, the very next day. My childhood was filled with wonderful tales from Tinkle ( a local comic) to Enid Blyton, Roald Dahl, Rowling and countless other dreamers who filled the reader’s hearts with ecstasy.  I owe all of this to a very special teacher in my middle school, Ms.Vimala Paul. At that time in my life, she was the only one who never ceased to give me book suggestions and encouraged me to keep reading. (My parents weren’t very thrilled with the little Shm spending all her time on “story” books.)

Subsequently, reading led to a flair for writing. My first serious attempt at writing was during the Summer holidays of grade 6 or 7. I wrote an adventure story about two siblings who were on their Summer vacation and solved a mystery of stolen temple jewels 😀 Not very original but I guess I was too influenced by the Famous five and Secret Seven series. I never believed my writing was good enough, and that’s why the story never came out of my secret closet. To have progressed from there to writing in a public site – I consider it a personal achievement. I do hope I keep writing in some form or the other till the very end, as it brings me a joy unlike any other 🙂

18 thoughts on “A come-back post with Writerly Reflections

  1. Pingback: I write because I MUST: Weekly Writing Challenge | ALIEN AURA'S BLOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

    • You are right, Sue. He is an incredible person who shaped a lot of my early childhood choices. I take after him in some of my preferences and character 🙂 Thanks for your continued support for my blog, I do plan to write here more frequently from now 🙂

      • That’s great! It can be hard to keep life in balance. I had some great advice from the Gallivances who I believe have been to your blog a well. Keep blogging as long as it is fun. If it’s work then that’s a red flag. It has really helped me.

      • Yes, that’s a good point. I still love blogging and it gives me so much joy when I post something but it was just so hard to find that time in the midst of a crazy schedule. But I ve realised that the joy is definitely worth more 🙂 so you will see me around often! 😉

  2. Pingback: The 16th of December 1953 – Cornish, New Hampshire | Forgotten Correspondence

  3. Pingback: That Face in the Mirror | Views Splash!

  4. Pingback: writing off the wall | litadoolan

  5. Pingback: Letters from the Silence – 28th March, 2014 | Wired With Words

  6. Shmruthi, I too read Enid Blyton’s Secret Seven and Famous Five. You were lucky to have such a great teacher encouraging you and beautiful memories of your Grandfather. Welcome back to blogging. I’ll be a regular visitor to the Tales of My Journey. Cheers Irene

  7. Pingback: Strange Tales of Living Windows, Goggle Soup and… Criminal Penguins? | Ramisa the Authoress

  8. I actually laughed out loud about you getting into trouble for reading story books! I swear only desi parents can come up with this one. I also always used get into trouble for reading story-books and reading ‘too fast’! Glad to meet a fellow Enid Blyton fan – Faraway Tree series were my fav 🙂

    • Haha 😀 I had to be really creative in my tactics to read story books at home – sneaking them inside textbooks, reading them under my bed or worst, in the bathroom 😛

      Ah yes, Silky, Moon-face and Saucepan Man!! I think I would enjoy Enid Blyton’s books even if I read them now, so many pleasant memories 🙂

Leave a Reply

