I am officially a liebster Blogger ;)

Yeyyy, I got my very first blogging award from my dear friendly Salmon, Sara 😉  Unlike many other bloggers who have absolutely no clue when they receive their first award, I am quite knowledgeable in this area. You see, I am a bit of an obsessive, compulsive person whenever I begin to undertake any task, so when I first started blogging I spent hours and hours going through blogs learning about Freshly Pressed, Blogger Awards, Monetizing blogs, etc., etc., And I wanted them all to happen 😀 Then slowly reality hit me; I sort of forgot about them all and just tried to keep doing what I love. So this award was a pleasant surprise and thank you Sara for considering me as one of your dearest friendly neighbors. It’s definitely an honor 🙂

lieb

So, what does this mean? Liebster in German means “Dearest” and this has been going around in the blogging community for quite a few years now and is bestowed upon newbie bloggers. There are a few conditions though, once someone chooses to accept it. (You can even reject it but I don’t see much point it except that you really need to spend some time for this acceptance post! )

 So without further ado, the conditions are :

(a) Thank the blogger who gives it.

(b) Answer the eleven questions s/he asks.

(c) Nominate eleven bloggers with less than 500 followers.

(d) Ask these eleven bloggers eleven questions.

(e) Let these bloggers know that I have nominated them.

The 11 questions for me by Sara and my answers inline:

1. Whether or not you believe in heaven, what do you imagine heaven should be like?

Filled with chocolate trees and ice cream fountains , but the most important part is we should never be able to put on weight when in Heaven 😉

2. Would you rather live in a challenging city like..umm, Bombay OR a clean, user-friendly city like Abu Dhabi? (There’s not many places I’ve experienced in the world to name any others:) )

I would want to experience both 🙂

3. If you got to spend one day in someone else’s shoes, who would you choose to be?

A lot of celebrities come to mind but being them for one day would just make me miserable for the rest of my days! 😉

4. What languages can you speak other than English?

Tamil , my mother tongue. Un petite peu de Francais and a teeny tiny bit of Hindi (I already see my north-Indian friends glaring faces 😉 )

5. What do you think of all-girls schools?

I studied in one for my high school. So obviously, AWESOME!

6. What physical feature of yours do you sometimes wish were a little different?

My nose! I keep saying this all the time but I don’t think I will get a nose job either 😉

7. What did you like most about your favorite teacher?

Her unconventional spirit. She didn’t care about how teachers were supposed to behave, she did what she believed in and taught us so much more than text books.

8. If there was one thing you’d like your teachers to have done differently, what would it be?

More Fun stuff! More field trips!

9. If you were allowed one free-trip before you died, where would you choose to go?

Home. I don’t want to die in a foreign land.

10. What social injustice riles you up the most?

There are many; I am quite sensitive to anything that involved mistreatment, torture or loss of lives.

11. What’s your favourite type of blog-post?

If it’s the one I like writing it’s Memoirs; for reading I love every single type of blog-post.

 

Ufff.. finally my interview questions are over 😉 11 is definitely a lot of questions so I googled around to see if there was any loop hole I could utilize to make the lives of my nominees easier. And yes, there is!! Variations of liebster awards allow for 5-11 questions, so I will go with 5 🙂

1. If I became your real neighbor, what would you want me to serve when you visit me?

2. What was your latest nightmare?

3. Which animal best describes you and why?

4. If you had your own unicorn, what would you do with it?

5. Who is your role model?

I follow an eclectic range of bloggers who write about travel, food, fashion, philosophy, everyday life, expat life in India, etc., Therefore my nominees are also varied but an awesome bunch of bloggers, who never fail to impress me with their updates. I am very proud to announce the nominees of my Liebster Award…. <drum roll>

1. The Wandering Buddha – Someone who has followed an almost similar path as me and his postcards are simply awe inspiring.

2. Live to my fullest – Sha is a very sweet blogger friend who writes fabulous posts on travel, especially solo travelling.
3. Travel Tales of Life – Sue is the neighbor all of us yearn for! I am amazed by not just her fitness level but also her adventures.
4. World of Paris– Very useful Paris facts and reviews. You all will fall in love with the city of love once you start following her.
5. Frenchy Diary – A french girl living in Vietnam and shares absolutely amazing tips for living in Ho Chi Minh City.
6. Vida Manejo – Two talented writers’ opinions on the worldly happenings with an Indian eye. Very meaningful posts!
7.English Wife Indian Life  – Heart warming love story and everyday life stories of Lauren who is living in India
8. Litadoolan – I recently discovered Lita and she is such a sweetheart! Her writing is extremely good and engaging.
9. Squooshed – Monica is very funny and I always have a laugh when I read her posts even though they are on food or travels.
10. Fashion Noodles – Very inspring fashion stuff. Drool worthy!
11. Lastly, I don’t know her personally but I never fail to enjoy the soul touching poems at http://thepoetryof.wordpress.com/. Check it out for sure.

Thanks for the love everybody. Please feel free to pass this on!
 
18 thoughts on “I am officially a liebster Blogger ;)

  1. Congratulations on winning this historic award! Well Deserved Shmruthi. Your blog is well written with beautiful photographs that take the reader to exciting places. Can’t wait to read more of your posts. I also look forward to finding out more about the nominated blogs.

  2. Hey Shmruthi, congrats on your first blogging award! Firsts are always special in life.

    Also, thanks so much for the nomination! This is a pleasant surprise and also a huge, huge encouragement for me 🙂

    I confess I’ll have to spend some time before I can come up with answers to the questions posed to me. And then, I will have to come up with some interesting questions of my own! Seems like this award is a fun way to recognize our fellow budding bloggers 🙂

    • Yes it is 😀 Thanks a lot! Your blog is fantastic and if this award prompts you to share more, I will be ecstatic!

      Time your time, no pressure. As I said before it’s just my token of love and a small effort to let more people enjoy reading what you write =)

  3. Reblogged this on Vida Manejo and commented:
    Our amazing blogger friend Shamruthi Gowrisankar nominated Vida Manejo for the Liebster Award. Please check out her amazing blog at – https://shmingtales.wordpress.com/. The award is for newbie bloggers to encourage them with loving support from the fellow blogging community. Shmruthi wanted us to answer 5 questions:
    1. If I became your real neighbor, what would you want me to serve when you visit me? – Yummy samosas, homemade matar paneer and parathas. Always a favorite with every Indian 😉

    2. What was your latest nightmare? – That I will be left behind my loving family and my loved ones. It’s been a consistent nightmare for a while!

    3. Which animal best describes you and why? – Hmm, maybe a butterfly. I would really love to be able to morph effortlessly like a butterfly and fly light!

    4. If you had your own unicorn, what would you do with it? Oh man! Travel to far corners of India – all the time!

    5. Who is your role model? – There are a few actually. Lately I have been a big fan of Ariana Huffington, Melinda Gates, Bill Gates, Deepak Chopra, Dalai Lama, Bill Clinton, Robert Reich (he was also my Prof at UC Berkeley) to name a few. Lastly, the one person who has always helped me become a better person is my mommy! Mommies are indeed amazing role models and so is mine.

    I will let Deepti KC add her views on the Blog too!
    Thanks everyone for your encouraging support!

Leave a Reply

