Do I really have a writing “process”? Oh dear lord!

I have been trying and trying for the past few days to find answers for the 4 seemingly simple questions that my dear blogger friend Sha had nudged me to answer! It lead to a lot of deep thinking but nothing good ever came out of that. So after 2 days of my scheduled date ( sorry Sha 😦 ) I finally decided to put the pen to paper ( or rather my fingers to the keyboard ). I haven’t been spending time on the blog as much as I want to, owing to my never-dwindling work especially as it’s coming to the end of my term, a serious case of addiction to the Game of Thrones books and travel weariness. So yes, I did squeeze travel quite a bit in the mean time ;). You are gonna get an overload of travel stories once I’m done with my internship 😀

Coming back to the actual purpose of this post, Sha of ” Live to my fullest” was so kind to invite me to participate in this writing process blog tour which lets other bloggers know more about “why-you-write-what-you-write and how”. And in the same week, Irene of Reflections and Nightmares also put me up for this! So I definitely neeed to share my answers and here they go:

1. What am I working on?

I am right now dabbling in a multitude of things. I am still a “student” and have one more year left to graduate from my Masters degree in Business Management. So I’m heading back to Paris this September. In my gap year, I took up a couple of internships (currently on my last leg of the internship journey) and trying to figure out which career path I want to pursue. I am still indecisive though some of them have been ruled out. During the time away from my home country, I realized my affinity towards travel and hence this blog was born! I guess I was always looking out for something to write about and this is served as the perfect platform! I am also trying to do some writing outside of travel, through some freelancing gigs, primarily as a hobby and also to fund my travels. Oflate, this has left me with lesser and lesser time for blogging and more money for travelling 😉 There are tons of drafts, pictures and travel tips that I want to share – in less than a month, my internship gets over! Be ready guys 😉

2. How does my work differ from others of its genre?

Most of the travel bloggers do it full-time. They hit the road and keep moving! For some of us, this may not be possible. So my travel tales are the ones that I squeeze in between my weekends and official holidays. And I was brought up in a traditional Indian society with not much flair for travel before I flew out of my country, so I guess you can feel the excitement in my words when I embark on every new journey 🙂

3. Why do I write what I do?

Cos I love it! Most of the posts that I have written are accounts of my fun moments. When I do something I have never done before I want to write about it – that has become a part of my excitement. I also love to write about the local culture as I perceive it, since interacting with the locals is one of my favorite things to do on a trip. I have traveled solo in Asia for the first time in my life and if I can encourage more girls to give it a shot, there can be nothing more sweeter than that. 🙂

4. How does your writing process work?

It is all in my mind. Whenever I travel or experience something different, my mind immediately conjures up words. A title or a sentence or a theme – and I immediately note it down, most often in a piece of paper (I have been meaning to carry a journal every time but never do! ). Then whenever I have access to my computer, I create a draft in WordPress so that I don’t forget it. The harder task is the pictures. I generally structure my post with meaningful or interesting pictures that I take! So combining the words and pictures (and editing them) takes up most of my time.

So voila, I “do” have a process after all. I never thought I did. Thank you Sha for bringing this out and making me write this post 🙂

Now I pass it on to some fabulous bloggers that I admire and would love to know more:

Sheth’s perspective – Sheth writes about a variety of insightful topics and I love his take on some of the random yet insightful topics.

Getaway Journal – This couple’s travel dairy has made me add a new more places to my bucket list. Would love to read more from them!

Distracting Details – Amanda is amazing with the camera and I love her unique frames. Haven’t seen a lot from her recently though and I definitely want more 🙂

Thanks for all the love and support, my blogging friends! Much appreciated :*

18 thoughts on “Do I really have a writing “process”? Oh dear lord!

  1. You are very busy and so I am glad to read your posts when you are able. As I read more travel bloggers most seem to do trips and then write about them for some time when they get back. At any rate I look forward to hearing about your travels as you are able. Write on!

  2. I too call myself a travel blogger- one who visits fresh markets around the world, takes in the sights and sounds, capture incidents in photos and come home. Then begins the thought process- thinking the theme and conjuring words and linking photos. Enjoy your travels.

  3. I guess everyone has a writing process. Hmm. I’ll have to think deep as well. 🙂 Thanks for thinking about me and I hope I’ll do justice to the post – when I do write it. It will take a while though, I’m afraid. In the meantime, happy blogging! I can’t wait to hear about your travel experiences.

  4. Nice! Look forward to reading more once your internship is done. I can relate to #2… most travel bloggers are full-time travelers, but it’s not possible for some of us 🙂

  5. Thank you so much for linking to my site. 🙂 And for your sweet words. I haven’t been around much, but I do plan to come back soon! You’ve motivated me. 😀 Thank you for that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

